BBC Music Sound 2018 Reveal Longlist of Emerging Talent

Nov 27 2017 BY bespokemag

BBC Music Sound Of 2018 revealed its coveted longlist of future new music talent, tipped by industry experts for success next year.

Celebrating its 16th anniversary, the list compiled annually by BBC News has a track history of predicting who is going to be the next big thing. It is chosen by some of the most influential people at the heart of their respective musical genres. This year’s selected panel included representatives from the likes of VICE, Q Magazine and Billboard; international music festivals such as SXSW (USA), Primavera (Spain) and Belsonic (N. Ireland) as well as DJs from Dermot O’Leary to Charlie Sloth and Clara Amfo to Yasser. 

For the first time since Sound Of began, the longlist has been extended to 16 artists due to a tie in the number of votes awarded and equal levels of passion for two particular artists.

The BBC Music Sound of 2018 longlist in alphabetical order is:

·         ALMA

·         Billie Eilish

·         IAMDDB

·         Jade Bird

·         Khalid

·         Lewis Capaldi

·         Nilüfer Yanya

·         Not3s

·         Pale Waves

·         Rex Orange County

·         Sam Fender

·         Sigrid

·         Superorganism

·         Tom Walker

·         Yaeji

·         Yxng Bane


The class of 2018 is one of the youngest line ups ever nominated, with American singer songwriter Billie Eilish becoming the competition’s youngest ever nominee at just 15 years old. There is also a strong representation from Manchester with 3 artists, including urban jazz performer IAMDDB, indie pop band Pale Waves and singer songwriter Tom Walker making up the top 16. 

Every artist on the longlist has been supported in some way by BBC Radio across Radio 1, 1Xtra, Radio 2 and 6 Music. BBC Music Introducing has also been a part of the journey for half of the artists that make the list including IAMDDB, Jade Bird, Lewis Capaldi, Nilüfer Yanya, Pale Waves, Sam Fender, Superorganism and Tom Walker, offering festival slots, live sessions and inclusion on a variety of playlists on local and national shows. 

The daily countdown of the Top 5 will begin on BBC Radio 1 on Monday 8th January 2018. The winner will be announced live on air by Annie Mac in Clara Amfo’s show from 10am on Friday 12th January 2018.